Central Education Administrative Governance

    • National Education Committee
      (Launched 2022.9.27)
  • Prime minister
  • Ministry of Education
    (Deputy Prime Minister &
    Minister of Education)
  • Affiliated institutes
      • National Institute of Korean History
      • National Training Institute of Education, Science and Technology
      • National Institute for International Education
      • National Institute of Special Education
      • Appeal Commission for Education
      • National Academy of Sciences
Local Education Administrative Governance
  • 17 Metropolitan and Provincial Offices of Education
    (Governor of Education)
  • 176 Local Offices of Education
  • Individual Schools
      • NKindergarten
      • Middle school
      • Special school
      • Elementary school
      • High school
      • Lifelong education/Miscellaneous school
Central Education Administrative Governance

The central education administrative governance consists of several key actors, including the President, the Prime Minister, the Ministry of Education, and affiliated institutes. The Ministry of Education serves as a central administrative body, with the Minister having the role of the Deputy Prime Minister for Social Affairs. The Minister of Education oversees human capital development policies, school education, lifelong education, and academic affairs at the national level.

Local Education Administrative Governance

In 1991, the Local Education Autonomy Act was enacted, leading to the decentralization of the Ministry of Education’s budget and major administrative decisions related to local education. This shift resulted in the establishment of a decentralized local education autonomy system, and the delegation of authorities to local governments.

With regard to local educational administrative governance, the Metropolitan and Provincial Offices of Education, in conjunction with the Educational Committee of the Metropolitan or Provincial Councils, serve as the core component of local education autonomy. The Educational Committee acts as a deliberative and decision-making body. The Governors of Education of the Metropolitan and Provincial Offices of Education are directly elected by residents and serve a 4-year term, with the possibility of re-election for up to three terms. During the term of office, the Governor of Education is entrusted with decision-making authority, responsible for overall local educational administration, including education, arts and sciences. Local Offices of Education are lower-level educational administrative agencies of the Metropolitan and Provincial Offices of Education. They are in charge of supporting students, parents, and schools on the front line of schooling. As of 2023, there are 17 Metropolitan and Provincial Offices of Education and 176 Local Offices of Education.

Source : 2023 Education in Korea